Happy Birthday Harry Potter!

 

So we’ve just come to the end of another fantastic YALC (Young Adult Literature Convention) which always signifies one thing for me, and lots of others…

It’s Harry Potter’s birthday! Yes, I’m a huge Harry Potter fan – no big surprise there. When I first started reading Harry Potter, only the first three were out so I’ve been there at the Midnight releases, I’ve gone through the agonising year-long waits for the next installments and I’ve read (and re-read and re-read…) I’ve seen the Cursed Child play, bought the book, got the t-shirt (literally… And all the enamel pins)

And I’m still in awe. I don’t think I’ve ever been as moved by a book series in my life and I wonder if I or other younger readers after me will ever have this sensation again? Sure, I’ve read tons of incredible books and I’ve re-read them too and I’ve bought goodies and been to signings, seen the film adaptations, but what is it about Harry Potter that just makes it something extra special?

This year is the 20th anniversary and the books are still going so incredibly strong as a new generation of children meet Harry, Ron and Hermione and start their Hogwarts journey. It’s incredible, there’s nothing quite like it and on this special day I just wanted to shine a light on the best book series I have ever read and (bold statement coming…) I think I ever will read.

And to anyone who says that JK Rowling is a bad writer – you are clearly a squib and need to get over it.

The next illustrated edition of Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban will be published by Bloomsbury in October, priced at Β£30.00 RRP, and I can’t wait to get my hands on more of Jim Kay’s glorious illustrations.

 

3 thoughts on “Happy Birthday Harry Potter!

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑